Traumatic Brain Injury Program

The TBI (traumatic brain injury) Waiver program is designed to allow individuals who have suffered a traumatic brain injury or stroke to stay in or return to their homes and continue to make choices about their own care. Waiver programs are specifically for people who would otherwise be in an institution (nursing home, hospital) for long-term care. 

 Regional Resource Development Center (RRDC)​

​The Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI) Waiver program is administered through a network of RRDCs, each covering specific counties throughout the State. The RRDC at ARISE covers Onondaga, Oneida, Herkimer, Jefferson, Lewis, St. Lawrence, Oswego, and Madison counties. The staff at the RRDC accept referrals, complete intakes, determine eligibility and approve community-based service plans. The RRDC provides oversight to a network of agencies who provide the wavier services to eligible participants. These waivers provide an opportunity for individuals who are Medicaid eligible to receive services in the community rather than in an institution.

TBI Waiver Eligibility:

• Diagnosis with TBI or other type of brain injury, such as stroke, anoxia, etc.
• Be eligible for nursing facility level of care
• Be a Medicaid recipient
• Be 18-64 years old
• Choose to live in the community rather than a nursing facility
• Have or find a living arrangement which meets the individual’s needs
• Be able to be served with the funds and services available under the HCBS/TBI waiver and New York State Medicaid State Plan
• Not participate in another HCBS waiver

Counties served:  

Onondaga, Oneida, Herkimer, Jefferson, Lewis, St. Lawrence, Oswego, Madison. 

Contact Us

Maria Musumeci, TBI Program Manager

(315) 671-3097

Forms & Info

TBI Information Packet

 TBI Referral Form

Doctor looking at ex rays of brain and skull