Our Mission & Team

Our mission is to work with people of all abilities to create a fair and just community in which everyone can fully participate. 

As an Independent Living Center (ILC), ARISE promotes the full inclusion of people with disabilities in the community. Like all ILCs, ARISE has five key characteristics. The agency is: 

  • consumer-controlled – it is operated by people with disabilities who directly influence policies and service delivery 
  • community-based – it is located in the communities we serve and is dedicated to meeting each community’s specific needs 
  • non-residential – we do not operate a residential facility and focus on helping people live as independently as possible 
  • non-profit – the agency meets the federal and state definitions of a not-for-profit organization 
  • cross-disability focused – we serve people of all ages with all types of disabilities 

ARISE is dedicated to furthering the independent living philosophy: the belief that people with disabilities have the same rights as people who do not have disabilities. We are at the forefront of advocating for access, choice, and self-determination for individuals with disabilities. 

We encourage you to get involved and give back to your community, either by volunteering to help ARISE accomplish its work, or by helping advocacy efforts that reduce the barriers people with disabilities face in their everyday lives. 

Our staff reflect the diversity of our community and the people we serve. More than half of our staff are individuals who have a disability. 

Our Management Team has extensive experience and expertise in helping people with disabilities maximize their ability to fully integrate into the community. 

Please don’t hesitate to contact members of our management team for more information about ARISE services. 

Picture of Tania Anderson, CEO

Tania S. Anderson, Chief Executive Officer 
(315) 671-5111 / tania.anderson@ariseinc.org 

Picture of Cassandra Bulak, CFO

Cassandra Bulak, Chief Financial Officer 
(315) 671-2958 / cbulak@ariseinc.org 

Picture of Tim Mahar, Development Officer

Tim Mahar, Development Officer 
(315) 671-2903/tmahar@ariseinc.org 

Picture of Catherine Budlong, Senior Director of Strategic Initiatives

Kate Budlong,  Senior Director of Strategic Initiatives
(315) 671-3098/  cbudlong@ariseinc.org 

Picture of Michael Cretaro, CIO

Michael Cretaro, Chief Information Officer
(315) 952-6473 /mcretaro@ariseinc.org

Picture of Jeremy Henderson, Director of Finance

Jeremy Henderson, Director of Finance 
(315) 671-5119 /jhenderson@ariseinc.org 

Picture of Kristen Jackson, Director of Community Programs and Services

Kristen Jackson, Director of Community Programs and Services 
(315) 671-5107/KJackson@ariseinc.org 

Picture of Nina Lutz, Director of Independent Living Services

Nina Lutz, Director of Independent Living Services 
(315) 671-2904 /nlutz@ariseinc.org 

Picture of John Martin, Director of Human Resources

John Martin, Director of Human Resources 
(315) 671-5428 / JMartin@ariseinc.org 

Picture of Kristen Miguel, Director of Clinical Services

Kristen Miguel, Director of Clinical Services 
(315) 671-2952 /kmiguel@ariseinc.org 

Dan Trebendis, Director of Quality Improvement, Corporate Compliance Officer

(315) 671-2967/DTrebendis@ariseinc.org